North Carolina Triad Chapter of Sisters in Crime


Agnes Alexander / Lynette Hall Hampton

Lynette Hall Hampton founded our chapter in 2003. Under both her own name and as Agnes Alexander, she has written more than 40 novels including Grace’s Dream, Fiona’s Journey, and Murder in North Carolina.

For more information, visit

Peggy Anderson

Nia Avery

Nia Avery served as our chapter president in 2016. She writes psychological thrillers and is in her eighteenth year of active duty with the United States Army.

Judith Barillaro

Holly Bovio

Holly Bovio has her Masters in Health Administration from Duke and has worked in healthcare for 25 years. She moved to High Point two years ago from Texas, where she was a member of the San Gabriel Writer's Group and The Coroner's critique group. She was published in The Gabriel Writer and was a featured blogger for a nationally accredited healthcare mediation blog. She is currently working on Deadpan, a cozy mystery set in a medical center in the South.

Roxy Bruntmyer

Roxy Bruntmyer is a nonfiction author and family historian with several projects nearing completion.

For more information, visit

Leigh Cox

Teresa Fannin

Teresa Fannin is head of the Carolinas Region of SCBWI (the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators), and a longtime member of Murder We Write.

For more information, visit

Marc Fountain

Marc Fountain is our chapter webmaster. He is a career technical writer gradually transitioning to fiction, and is currently seeking representation for his MG novel The Most Noble Choice.

For more information, visit

Victoria Gilbert

Victoria Gilbert is an author and librarian. Her cozy mystery series, THE BLUE RIDGE LIBRARY MYSTERY SERIES, will be published by Crooked Lane Books. Book One, A MURDER FOR THE BOOKS, will release in January 2018, with additional books in the series releasing in later 2018 and in 2019. Victoria is represented by Frances Black of Literary Counsel, NY, NY. She lives in the Winston-Salem area with her husband and some very spoiled cats.

For more information, visit

Alan Gratz

Alan Gratz is the author of a number of mysteries and thrillers for young readers, including Something Rotten (ALA 2008 Quick Pick for Young Adult Readers), Something Wicked, and Prisoner B-3087 (YALSA's 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults). His latest novel is the thriller Code of Honor, billed as Showtime’s “Homeland” for young adults. A Tennessee native, Alan is a full-time writer living in Western North Carolina.

For more information, visit

Michael Havelin

Michael Havelin has worked as a musician, author, photographer, publisher, teacher, lawyer, woodworker, and interpreter. He writes the Ben Bones series of Genealogical Sleuth novels as well as nonfiction. Mystery Mastery is the book that will help you write the mystery inside you. Between the covers is advice on where to get ideas, your writing place, genres, character and plot development, preferred crimes, research, and much more. The many challenging exercises will have you looking at the world differently and thinking like a writer.

For more information, visit and

Angie Harmon

Angie Harmon is our chapter secretary. Her writings involve both the Seen and the Unseen.

For more information, visit

Mary Kimball

Vicki Lane

Vicki Lane is the author of The Day of Small Things and of the Elizabeth Goodweather Full Circle Farm Appalachian Mysteries: Signs in the Blood, Art's Blood, Old Wounds, Anthony-nominated In a Dark Season, and Under the Skin. She also teaches in UNC-Asheville’s Great Smokies Writing Program. Vicki draws her inspiration from rural western North Carolina where she and her family have tended a mountainside farm since 1975.

For more information, visit Vicki on Facebook, at her daily blog or

Chris Lavene

Joyce and Jim Lavene

Joyce and Jim Lavene wrote more than 70 books published by several major houses under their own names as well as J.J. Cook and Ellie Grant. Jim became chapter president in 2011. Joyce succeeded him and remained president until her death on October 20, 2015, at age 61. Jim died on May 5, 2016, at age 63. They were good friends to all and are greatly missed. As the steward of his parents' body of work, son Chris is making sure that the family's books continue to be available, both in print form and eventually also in ebook form. Keep checking their website for updates.

For more information, visit

Caroline McGuinn

Pat Meller

Pat Meller is our chapter treasurer.

Michele Movius

Jacque Perkins

Jacque Perkins, a Forensic Nurse appointed by the governor to work with the NC chief medical examiner’s office, was the speaker at our 17 July 2016 program.

Bryan E. Robinson

Bryan Robinson’s experiences as a licensed psychotherapist and career workaholic inspired him first to write a series of nonfiction books on the subject of managing stress, then a series of novels including the murder mystery Limestone Gumption, winner of the 2015 Silver IPPY Award.

For more information, visit

Chris Roerden

Chris Roerden, editor 50+ years, has edited mystery authors published by Berkley Prime Crime, Walker & Co., Tor-Forge, Midnight Ink, St. Martin's, Intrigue, Perseverance, Oceanview, and more. A writing instructor, she’s written 11 nonfiction books including Agatha winner Don’t Murder Your Mystery and its all-genre version Don’t Sabotage Your Submission.

For more information, visit

Ramona Shepherd

Ramona Shepherd has two series in publication under Mona Shepherd: Rangers is an adventure/romance that celebrates National Park personnel and their challenges in the Smoky Mountains. The Winterthur Chronicles covers the saga of a Yorkshire estate-turned-eco-community with lots of dark intrigue and a pinch of mysticism. Ramona holds a degree from UC-Davis’s School of Environmental Design. Along with participating in environmental conferences, research, and correspondence, she derives inspiration from farm tours and festivals featuring traditional crafts. Her books are available on Amazon.

Jamie Stegner

Jamie Stegner served as our chapter treasurer during 2016. She writes screenplays.

Annie Galvin Teich

Annie Galvin Teich has worked for more than 25 years in publishing with a focus on serving the education industry as it adapts to ever more rapidly changing technologies.

For more information, visit

Jane Tesh

Jane Tesh, a retired media specialist, lives in Mt. Airy, North Carolina, Andy Griffith’s hometown, the real Mayberry. She is the author of the Madeline Maclin Mystery series featuring former beauty queen, Madeline “Mac” Maclin and her con man husband, Jerry Fairweather, as well as the Grace Street series, featuring struggling PI David Randall, his friend Camden, a reluctant psychic, and an ever-changing assortment of tenants who move in and out of Cam’s boarding house on Grace Street. Her mysteries are set in fictional North Carolina towns and are on the light side with a little humor and romance. They are published by Poisoned Pen Press.

For more information, visit Jane on Facebook and Twitter, at her blog or at